International racing team RAM Racing is leading the 24H Series 12 Hours of Mugello after four hours of competition with its Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 and drivers Tom Onslow-Cole (GB), Adam Christodoulou (GB) and Paul White (GB).

The race, which is the second round of the championship, is split into two sessions - four hours on Friday afternoon and eight hours on Saturday. At the close of the first session, RAM Racing is in first place thanks to a strong strategy and solid performance from all three drivers.

“Well, that all went to plan!” commented Team Principal Dan Shufflebottom. “We had a good strategy and all three drivers did exactly as was required. The plan was to finish today in first place, with a near-full tank of fuel and with a good set of tyres, and we have achieved just that.”

Race regulations state that cars must stop on the grid under parc ferme conditions until morning and that changes to fuel and tyres cannot be made before the restart. However, a driver change is permitted so Tom Onslow-Cole, who qualified in third place earlier today, will be first out in the car.

“The restart will be tricky, there are more than 70 cars, all on cold tyres, on a potentially frosty track,” explained Onslow-Cole, who has a contract to drive for RAM Racing for the 2015 season. "There's still a long way to go in race, but we're leaving the track tonight in the best position possible."

RAM Racing first ran the 6.3-litre Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 in the Dubai 24 Hours two months ago, taking second place overall. This weekend, it has its sights set on the race win with a view to taking the championship-lead.

“It’s important that we don’t get over excited,” commented Shufflebottom. “There is a long way to go but we got off to a textbook start and that’s all we can ask for at this point. It’s time for a pizza and an early night so we can come back and start tomorrow where we left off. The race win is our goal.”

The second session of the 12 Hours of Mugello starts at 0930hrs CET tomorrow (14 March). Fans can watch at www.24hseries.com.
© 2015 VIPR Media